My Mother

My mother…she was an amazing woman. If I’m half the mother she was, I’ll be thrilled. All my friends loved her, a fact that drove me crazy in elementary and middle school. In fact, she was one of the chaperons, for the 5th grade trip to DC, and I didn’t even get to be in her group because she was the most popular parent there. By the time I got into high school, and met other mothers, I realized what a gem I had.

When she passed I was devastated. I crumbled. And I’m not sure I ever re-built myself.

Now that I’m a mother, I’m beginning to understand the sheer magnitude of what she did as a single mother with no co-parent.

So here’s to you mom. I love you. I miss you. Enjoy the show.

 

Ms. Norma Tanner Smith, 57, passed away peacefully at her home Thursday, March 3, 2005. She was born in Winston-Salem to Milas and Hattie Tanner. She graduated from Atkins High School in 1965 and Morgan State University in 1969 with a degree in economics and a minor in mathematics. After living in Baltimore and Chicago, Norma returned home in 1980 and began her career at Winston-Salem State University, where she worked until her passing. She was extremely active in her community, holding memberships in several civic organizations and leadership positions in many. In 1984, she was named Woman of the Year by the Winston-Salem Chronicle. In 2001, the Winston-Salem Board of Aldermen issued a special resolution in her honor for her work with the East Winston Economic Development Task Force. She is survived by her daughter, Natasha Elaine Smith; her brother, Charles Kent Tanner; and several cousins, both local and out-of-town. A memorial service will be held at 1 p.m. today, March 9, at Mt. Zion Baptist Church. The family will receive friends from noon until 1 p.m. at the church. In lieu of flowers, the family requests that memorials be made to Hospice & Palliative CareCenter of Forsyth County or the charity of their choice. (Russell)

Leave a Reply

