A New Take on Mother’s Day

Today I was going to write about that horrible Time magazine cover.

I was going to write about how it was an ugly example of a NATIONAL MAGAZINE bullying women who choose a different path in motherhood. (I mean really, we get ridiculed by friends, family, the world for doing what’s best for our families. How is that fair and just?)

Then I saw this absolutely ah-mazing post by Beth. Please, click the link. It’s worth it. Trust me.

I’m disgusted that some teen would take to YouTube to call her ugly.

While I know I wouldn’t have done that myself, I can’t honestly tell you what my initial reaction to her would have been as a teen.  The stereotypical bullying just wasn’t done at my high school (an all-girls, college prep boarding school).  It wasn’t tolerated.

But I do know this – my mother would have skinned me alive for being mean to that girl.

So I have to wonder, where are the parents? Why aren’t they parenting their children?

As we approach Mother’s Day, I’ve been thinking a lot about what it means to be a “MOTHER.” I had an amazing one, and I am doing everything I can to follow in her footsteps.

For me, that means teaching my child to appreciate people for who they are. We are all different, and that should be celebrated. My mother had standards that she held me up to; I’ll do the same with Nate. And what works for us, works for us (be it extended breastfeeding, high academic standards, my compulsion to put him in sweater vests).

I want to teach Nate to always ask himself 1 question – is that person happy? If the answer is yes, then let that person be happy. And stand up for that person if other people mock that person. If the answer is no, then do what you can to help the person.

(That doesn’t mean we can’t have opinions. It just means we don’t express them and/or be hurtful with those opinions. For those of you who don’t know me, I have an opinion on EVERYTHING. For example, when I see a lady wearing white after Labor Day, I cringe on the inside. Then I have an internal conversation with her about the sins of breaking that fashion rule. But would I ever say that to her? Nope. Not my place. If she asked, I’d say something like “I was raised not to do that, but you look great, so go with it.”)

Ok, I’m rambling and my allergy meds just hit. Until next time…

Leave a Reply

