What Would I Tell My Younger Self?

Wow! Way to start off the dare with a hard one.  Although my life isn’t where I thought it would be right now, I’m essentially happy with the decisions I’ve made along the way.  So, here goes nothing…

  • Go to class. See, I rarely went to my lectures in college. Aside from Freshman classes which usually required attendance, I almost never went to class. For example, for the Shakespeare class I took Senior year, I went the first day (to get the syllabus), the day before the Midterm, the day of the Midterm, the day the paper was due, and the last day.  Now, over 10 years later, I realize college was a gift. I should have enjoyed the daytime hours on campus more.
  • Love yourself. Don’t get me wrong, I was cute then, and I knew it. But I didn’t appreciate my body. I was surrounded by size 0s and 2s, while I was a 10. I WISH I were still a 10.
  • Let your guard down. I wasn’t looking for love in college because it wasn’t on my “master plan.” That’s ok. But in my attempt at avoiding love I closed myself off to it. And now I’m trying my best to open my heart. But it’s been closed soooo long, I’m having an extremely difficult time opening it.

What would y’all tell your younger selves?

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Believe in yourself, stepping outside your comfort zone is not automatically hazardous to your health, love your family and God.

    1st-time visitor from Bloggy Moms.

  2. Couldn’t agree with you more on #2. During my teen years I was always on a diet, because at a size 16, I was nowhere as thin as my friends who were size 2 and 4. I felt horrible about myself. Now, 20 years later, I’m much bigger and wish I were still a size 16. 🙂

    Visiting from The Blog Dare.

Leave a Reply

