15 Month Update

**I intended to do a monthly update.  Well, I guess I can start now 🙂

So, my little guy is 15 months old today! Can you believe it?

I can whole-heartedly say that mommyhood is NOTHING like I thought it would be. It’s better; it’s worse.

I’m still a SAHM, which is a bit of a surprise. Going into this new endeavor, I just KNEW I’d be itching to get out of the house; that I’d be dropping my little one off at daycare the moment he turned 8weeks.   Instead, I am enjoying (almost) every moment I get to spend at home. I’m at the rink no more than 8 hours a week, and during that time he’s either in the child watch center, or he’s with his plethora of girlfriends at the rink.

I’m still breastfeeding. That’s right folks, I’m nursing a toddler.  Honestly, I thought I would have weaned him by now. But you know what? It’s not that bad. I will admit you’ll need to check back next month to see what we’re doing regarding breastfeeding.

Nate has turned into a great eater.  At 6 months, he had absolutely no interest in food…and I was terrified. I thought, “oh no! I’ve got one of those picky eaters on my hands.  What on earth am I going to do?” But thankfully many of my more experience mom friends on Twitter calmed me down. And only by the grace of God did I listen to her.  Now he eats anything and everything!  He loves bananas 🙂

Nate is still on the tiny side. My 9lb porker at birth is now a little love bug. He’s tall, but only weighs about 23lbs! Why, he never stops moving. He started walking back in August at 10mo, and he hasn’t stopped. When we’re out and about, he demands to walk. Sometimes I let him, and when I do we get tons of attention, which Butterball loves! I’m short enough that I don’t have to lean over to hold his hand. I simply extend my index finger and he holds it as we walk from store to store.

Nate loves to talk. Yes, it’s 90% gibberish, but he doesn’t know that . Only 6 to 10 are recognizable English. I can’t wait until it’s all English.

We still only have the 8 teeth. But I think that’s about to change…stay tuned.

Favorite things to do? He loves playing with the trash can. You read that right – the trash can.  If I can’t find something, that’s now the first place I look. Recently I’ve found his sippy cup, my cell phone, and the remote control ‘hiding’ there.  I know I didn’t throw those things away 🙂 He also loves talking on my cell phone and dancing around the room with me.  He’s at that curious stage, and I love it!!!

Hmmm…did I leave anything out? If I did, please ask! How are your babies doing?

4 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I love butterball!!! Congrats on the breastfeeding that’s so amazing!

  2. singlemamatalesitall December 18, 2010 — 12:29 PM

    First let me say I love his hair. He cute as be. I wish I hadn’t rushed to cut my sons hair. I chopped him on his first birthday. 😦 Congrats on still breastfeeding! I work with a mom who has a 16 month old she is trying to wean but her lil mama is not trying to wean at all. I will tell her about you cause your encouraging. Also do you have any youtube videos with you figure skating? I would love to you and your students in action.

Leave a Reply

